Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/kajukenb/public_html/cafe/Sources/Load.php(183) : runtime-created function on line 3
Opposing Husbands

Author Topic: Opposing Husbands  (Read 16887 times)

Offline Mell

• BlackBelt
  • Blue Belt
  • www.watchthelamb.com
    • Watch the Lamb Ministries
Opposing Husbands
« on: April 17, 2003, 09:04:35 PM »
When I started training in 1995, my husband was very much opposed to it.  He insisted that I stop training after three months.  Because I valued my marriage, I did what he asked.  It was nine months before I was able to return with his blessing.   Why my husband relented, I do not know, but many women face the same hurdle to training.  

We have a new student in our school who started three weeks ago.  Her husband and both of their families are upset that she is training.  What advise can we offer to one another to help others get through these types of situations?

Both of these examples are families where the husbands do not train in martial arts.

« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by 1054443600 »
Sibak Mellody Porter
ANDERSON MARTIAL ARTS - Grafton, Ohio
www.ohiokajukenbo.com
www.watchthelamb.com

Jon Pack

Re: Opposing Husbands
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2003, 02:04:52 AM »
I have seen this before with not only women but also the men in the school. The student spends three one hour sessions at the school during the week and some even come in for a one hour private lesson each week. That can be a good portion of the time that one has to offer the significant other in their lives.